Civil Service Commission, Police & Fire

Regular Meetings

  • 5:15 pm
  • 2nd Wednesday of each month


  • Fredric J. Barbret, Chairperson,  Appointed by Commission Members
    Term Expires:  July 01, 2023
  • Thomas Guswiler, Elected by Police and Fire Employees
    Term Expires:  July 01, 2028
  • John Surhigh,  Mayor/Council Appointment
    Term Expires:  July 01, 2024


Established to provide a board of civil service commissioners in cities having full-time paid members in the fire or police departments, or both; to provide a civil service system based upon examination and investigation as to merit, efficiency, and fitness for appointment, employment, and promotion of all full-time paid members appointed in the fire and police departments and respective cities; to regulate the transfer, reinstatement, suspension, and discharge of officers, firefighters, and police officers; to prescribe penalties and provide remedies, and to repeal acts and parts of acts.

This three-member commission is appointed as follows:

  • 1 appointed by Mayor and confirmed by City Council
  • 1 elected by Police and Fire Employees
  • 1 appointed by the other 2 commission members

Term is six years.